adasandiego

Everything Diabetes in San Diego, CA

Hillary Liber represents San Diego at Call to Congress 2011 in Washington D.C.

with 4 comments

Yesterday, Tuesday, March 8th, our very own San Diego Advocacy Chair for American Diabetes Association, Hillary Liber, arrived in Washington D.C. to represent our support in the effort to Stop Diabetes.  She has been eagerly awaiting the chance to advocate to the the decision makers on Capitol Hill for diabetes research and prevention funding.

A little more about Hillary in her own words:

I am so excited to be going to ADA’s Call to Congress for the first time.  I have been involved with ADA since 1995 – first with the fundraising walk (then called Walktoberfest, and now Step Out to Stop Diabetes) and eventually with membership on ADA’s San Diego Leadership Board.  For the past year, I’ve served as Advocacy Chair, and I am “growing” into my role.  I have met with members of Congress and their staff to explain the ADA agenda, but this is the first time that I will do this in DC.  I’m looking forward to learning more about our agenda, to meeting all the great ADA advocates, and going to Capital Hill to meet with our representatives.
I have Type 1 Diabetes, so involvement with American Diabetes Association has been an important part of my life.  Not only have I connected with wonderful people, but I have learned so much.  I’ve also gotten help from ADA to get what I need to manage my disease – including and insulin pump, Symlin, and most recently a continuous glucose monitor.  Managing diabetes is hard work, and I volunteer with ADA for the millions of people who don’t have diabetes, because I don’t want them to get it.  Of course, I am also concerned about helping others manage – and supporting the loved ones who support us.

Besides my involvement in ADA, here are some other things I have done professionally and as a volunteer: special educator, college instructor, textbook sales and teacher training, classes for seniors — both active and in nursing homes, City of Hope SD director, Hadassah National Field Consultant Supervisor, writing and teaching writing, and volunteering with almost a dozen other organizations from Meals on Wheels to United Way/Combined Health Agencies to the San Diego Center for Jewish Culture. 

However, the most important part of my life are my family and friends.  I have 2 sons, one who is married to a wonderful woman and living in LA with my two incredible granddaughters, and the other who lives in NYC and will be married to a lovely young woman in May.  One of my life goals is to have 1000 friends because a great scholar once said that a person who has 1000 friends is extremely rich – and I agree.  So I like to joke that I am a professional friend. 

Therefore, I’m looking forward to making new friends at ADA’s Call to Congress!
I’ll keep you posted once I get there, in spare moments between activities, and then when I get back home and put what I’ve learned into practice! 

Hillary Liber
Devoted ADA Volunteer
 

We’ll keep you updated on her experience over the next few days here on our blog.  On our Facebook Fan Page and on our Twitter.  We’d love to hear from you too!  Let us know how you’d like to advocate to help Stop Diabetes by commenting on our blog posts or Facebook Fan Page page. and sign up to become an ADA advocate today! After all, it’s going to take all of us to STOP this epidemic!


Written by American Diabetes Association San Diego

March 9, 2011 at 12:31 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] note that due to hectic schedules during the Call to Congress event any updates from Hillary Liber has been compiled from multiple text and email messages and might not be complete until she returns […]

  2. […] Hillary Liber, Devoted ADA Volunteer/ADA San Diego Advocacy Chair […]

  3. […] note that due to hectic schedules during the Call to Congress event any updates from Hillary Liber has been compiled from multiple text and email messages and might not be complete until she returns […]

  4. […] Join me, Hillary Liber, as an active advocate.  Email me at hliber@aol.com and I will have a conversation with you about […]


Leave a Reply

